“The Blind Assassin” doesn’t pack a punch

bas.jpg

Atwood beautifully juggles the four different narrative layers without a scratch. The ride is a bit jerky initially, but that lasts only for the first 50 pages. The Blind Assassin part – the sci-fi stories within the novel within this novel – was my favorite. I would’ve liked this book to be a total fantasy. But it’s way too ambitious and it didn’t end up realizing those ambitions. My only problem was that I guessed the final twist before I was midway through the book, and as everything is supposed to lead to that ultimate revelation, I was crushingly disappointed. Though her prose is great, I felt that she spent way too much time describing the seasons. At least 100 out of the 650-odd pages must have been about the weather.

Leave a comment